Tags

, , , , ,

Unless I’ve wandered out of the house with the intention of photographing something, what I am NOT doing, is carrying an assortment of lenses with me. It’s sometimes a regret, as in the case of this Rumpler Taube which hangs in the lobby of the Museum of Flight, Seattle. Large object, small room… I’m sure you get my frustration. Yes, I was able to photograph it completely, but not in the angle I had wanted. What’s a person to do?

What I did was take a ton of snapshots of it, and re-assemble it in Photoshop. The angle was really the problem, because when I don’t have the desired angle, all of the rotating in the world of a 2-D photograph isn’t going to look right without some creative illustrating to accompany it… and since Photoshop isn’t exactly fabulous for illustration, it can be a bit hair-pulling to work with for the purpose, but what the hey. Illustrated lines always pop too much for me in Photoshop, but I find that I can get away with them if I mock up the hardness of the line to match the softness of the edge on the image where it will be joining up to. I also always illustrate on a separate layer so that I can then play a bit with transparency in order to blend it.

Oh, white on white! *tsk, tsk* I’ll have to change that too. Yes, I realize there is no propeller blur, and there should be for this purpose, but it was distracting from the detail of the front of the aircraft and the landing gear, so let’s just pretend we’re coming in for a crash landing. Are we crashing? Should I add damage and smoke?! There is a point where I just have to stop, otherwise I’ll keep going, and going, and going… So, I am going to add a texture to give it sort of a vintage feel, and call it done. Erm… Lemme adjust the lighting with a little burning and dodging.

Stop! Just stop!

Wait. Are we posting it on the web? Let’s find a relevant quote. πŸ˜‰

“People maintain that there is an old Taube in Koln that starts without a mechanic the moment a pilot sits in it, flies away by itself, makes curves and lands again in 5 minutes. Many men are said to have seen it. I have not seen it – but I am firmly convinced that it is true.”
~ Manfred von Richthofen

