Tags

, , , , ,

I lost a day, last week. I lost it not because I was too busy, not because I had forgotten what day of the week it was, but rather because I had stayed up way too late on the previous night, leaving me rather zombified the following day. Strangely, I still feel as if I’m a day behind.

Damn you, TCM and your late hour programming featuring Peter O’Toole… I couldn’t turn the box off. Yes, yes, yes, I could have simply recorded it on the DVR, but I didn’t.

The first film I ever saw him in was My Favorite Year. I absolutely adored him as Alan Swan, and I’m still quite fond of the film to this day.

I suppose it is due to this having been the first of his films I had seen, that how he looked then, complete with Errol Flynn mock-up wardrobe, is how I envision him to this day upon mention of his name. I loved the characters he played, but for the most part, had only seen him in films that were current releases at the time I viewed them. It actually was not until recent years, that I started catching some of his older films, and I was really quite shocked at his appearance. Oh, you pretty, pretty thing! While there may be no shortage of words that I might use to describe a man, pretty is generally not one of them.

Peter O'Toole and director Sir David Lean - Lawrence of Arabia (1962)

At a party following the premiere of “Lawrence of Arabia” in December 1962, Noel Coward told him, “If you’d been any prettier, it would have been ‘Florence of Arabia’.” via tcm

Quotes from The Ruling Class (1972)

Dr. Herder: He can’t forget being rejected by his mother and father at the age of 11. They sent him away, alone, into a primitive community of licensed bullies and pederasts.
Sir Charles: You mean he went to public school.
Dr. Herder: Exactly.

Jack Arnold Alexander Tancred Gurney – 14th Earl of Gurney: When did I realize I was God? Well, I was praying and I suddenly realized I was talking to myself.

McKyle: I didn’t travel twenty million miles through galactic space to bandy words with a poxy moon-looney who thinks he’s me! Away, or you’ll be dropped!

Jack Arnold Alexander Tancred Gurney, 14th Earl of Gurney: Behaviour which would be considered insanity in a tradesman is looked upon as mild eccentricity in a lord.

