Tags

Bill, bill, junk, catalog, ooh – what’s this?! Junk, junk… No! A postcard from my least favorite stalker had found it’s way to me. How could this be?! Could he not find someone else to terrorize? I felt my stomach drop, as wave of dizziness swept over me.

I stared at the postcard, faced with popular cartoon animals, smiling and laughing, as if mocking me. How dare he send such a happy looking postcard? What kind of sick person does that? I looked at them again. They looked back; Winnie the Poo and Tigger too. *shudder* I buried it beneath a pile of catalogs. Out of sight, out of mind. Right? And forget about it, I did… until two weeks later.

*Ring, ring* Hmm, I don’t recognize the number. What part of a “Do Not Call List” do people not understand? To the machine with you! Wait a minute… *gasp* This time, it was some strange woman calling on behalf of my stalker. Holy crap?! Why is she doing his bidding? Will the terror never end?! I knew that the only way to make him stop, would be to confront him.

The next morning, I took a deep breath as I stepped into the car. Did I remember how to get there? Yes, you see… I had done this before. It was the only way I knew of to make the post cards and phone calls stop.

When I arrived at my destination, I was greeted by a smiling woman sitting behind a counter, surrounded by glass. Hmmph. I’ll bet it’s bulletproof. “I see you made it back!” She exclaimed through the window. Despite the smile, I suspected she was rubbing her hands together sinisterly beneath the counter.

“How else am I going to get you people to stop sending me those sinister postcards?” I responded. She laughed. How dare she!

And then, it began.

Obviously, I survived the ordeal, as I’m still here to tell the tale. As I left the building, the woman trapped in the glass aquarium waved at me, and shouted, “We’ll see you in the spring!” Was that a threat?

