Tags

,

The Phantom of the Opera, Lon Chaney, Sr. & Mary Philbin

I love the Halloween season. Since childhood, I’ve always found it somewhat electrifying. The change in weather and colors, the smell of autumn in the air, the costume parties, and of course, the stories that kept me on the edge of my seat.

It just wouldn’t be a proper October without a good portion of horror films, and there are some that I’m incapable of passing up on, no matter how many times I’ve seen them. I’ll be posting some of them here during the course of the month.

The Phantom of the Opera: There is something about the 1925 silent, featuring Lon Chaney, Sr. and Mary Philbin, that I find irresistible. It’s not only a great film, but an amazing piece of vintage eye candy. It’s the sets, the wardrobe, the… ZOWIE! Lookie! It’s so SHINY! Despite it being my favorite version of the story, I haven’t yet changed the channel on any other perspective of it, as I’m always curious to see how it’s going to be dressed up.

(1925)

